Electoral Commission of Queensland

Electoral Boundaries

An electoral boundary is a geographically defined area, frequently referred to as a division, ward or council at the local government level, or a district or electorate at the state government level.

Electoral boundaries are primarily designed around the number of voters living within them. Over time the number of electors residing in each of these areas changes and it is the responsibility of the Local Government Change Commission and the Queensland Redistribution Commission to review and adjust the boundaries thereby ensuring each person's vote holds the same value.

Boundary maps

Maps of the existing state electoral boundaries are on display at ECQ's office during normal business hours, or you can view interactive and/or static maps here:

The digital Geographic Information Systems (GIS) data for the state electoral boundaries are available through the Queensland Government Spatial Catalogue (QSpatial).